Scott Streiner, Chair and CEO

Photo of Scott Streiner, Chair and CEO

Scott Streiner began a five-year term as Chair and CEO of the Canadian Transportation Agency (CTA) on July 20, 2015. Since that time, he has taken a series of steps to enhance the CTA's ability to respond to the needs of a rapidly evolving national transportation system, its customers, and the communities in which the system operates. These steps include: realigning the CTA's internal structure and recruiting top-notch talent to serve on the executive team; putting in place an action plan to foster a healthy, high‑performing organization; increasing public awareness of the CTA's roles and services through speeches, media interviews, and social media; introducing innovative approaches to delivering the CTA's regulatory and adjudicative mandates; and launching a broad review of the full suite of regulations, codes, and guidelines administered by the CTA.

Scott also led the revitalization of the Council of Federal Tribunal Chairs in 2016 and 2017, and is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals.

Prior to joining the CTA, Scott had a 25-year career in the federal public service. As Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Economic and Regional Development Policy, he served as Secretary to the Cabinet Committee on Economic Prosperity and played a key role in preparing advice to the Prime Minister on economic, environmental and trade matters, including in the areas of transportation and infrastructure. As Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy with Transport Canada, he led the development of policy options and advice on issues touching all modes of the national transportation system, and ran the Department’s international, intergovernmental and data analysis functions.

Earlier positions included Executive Director of the Aerospace Review; Assistant Deputy Minister with the Labour Program; Vice President, Program Delivery with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency; Director General, Human Resources with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans; Director of Operations for the Reference Group of Ministers on Aboriginal Policy; Machinery of Government Officer at the Privy Council Office; and Director of Pay Equity with the Canadian Human Rights Commission.

Scott has led Canadian delegations abroad, including to India, China, and the International Labour Organization. He has also served as the Government Member with NAV Canada, Canada's Ministerial Designee under the North American Agreement on Labour Cooperation, Chair of the Council of Governors of the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, and a Director on the Board of the Soloway Jewish Community Centre.

Scott received a bachelor’s degree in East Asian Studies from the Hebrew University, a master’s degree in International Relations from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, and a PhD in Political Science from Carleton University. He spent a year at Carleton University as a Public Servant in Residence and has taught courses, published articles, and made conference presentations on human rights, Middle Eastern history and politics, and public policy.

Elizabeth C. Barker, Vice-Chair

Elizabeth C. Barker, Vice-Chair

Liz Barker began a five-year term as Vice-Chair and Member of the Canadian Transportation Agency (CTA) on April 3, 2018. 

Liz joined the CTA's predecessor, the National Transportation Agency, in 1991 as counsel.  She has held several positions at the CTA, including, most recently, Chief Corporate Officer, Senior General Counsel and Secretary.  She has worked in all areas of the Agency’s mandate over the years, but has specialized in advising the tribunal in complex dispute adjudications and oral hearings on controversial subjects including rail level of service complaints, a wide range of complex accessible transportation disputes, and ministerial inquiries into marine pilotage and the accessibility of inter-city motor coach services.  She has also worked extensively in the development of the Agency’s approach to its human rights mandate, administrative monetary penalties regime, alternative dispute resolution, final offer arbitration, and rail level of service arbitration.  She has appeared as counsel before all levels of court, including the Federal Court, the Federal Court of Appeal, and the Supreme Court of Canada, as co-counsel in Council of Canadians with Disabilities v. VIA Rail Canada Inc., [2007] 1 S.C.R. 650.

Liz was a recipient of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2016 for her work at the Agency, in particular in accessible transportation, the administrative monetary penalties program, and for her leadership of the Legal Services Branch.

Liz received her law degree from Osgoode Hall Law School in 1987 and her B.A. (Honours in Law) from Carleton University in 1984.  She has been a member of the  Law Society of Ontario since 1989.

Peter Paul Fitzgerald, Member

Peter Paul Fitzgerald, Member

Dr. Peter Paul Fitzgerald became a Member of the Canadian Transportation Agency on June 18, 2014.

Dr. Fitzgerald handled legal files related to the Air India Flight 182 disaster and has published for over 25 years in peer-reviewed law journals in Canada, the United States and Europe. He has presented papers at international conferences in Canada, the United States, Europe and Asia. Dr. Fitzgerald has taught aviation law to students at McGill University’s Institute of Air and Space Law and Chicago’s DePaul University College of Law.

He has served as an advisor to government on aviation, rail and marine matters. He championed Canada’s Blue Skies policy and helped promote changes to the Canada Transportation Act and the Canada Marine Act. He was awarded the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal in 2003 and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.

Dr. Fitzgerald holds an earned doctorate in Law at McGill University's Institute of Air and Space Law. He holds a master of business administration from the Richard Ivey School of Business at the University of Western Ontario, a joint bachelor of common and civil law from McGill University and a bachelor of political science from Université Laval. He is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society and also a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport.

William G. McMurray, Member

William G. McMurray, Member

William G. McMurray became a Member of the Canadian Transportation Agency on July 28, 2014.

Prior to his appointment to the Agency, he served as Vice-Chairperson of the Canada Industrial Relations Board.

A lawyer, Mr. McMurray practised administrative law and litigation in the private sector for over 23 years. He acted as counsel for some of Canada’s largest employers in the federal transportation industry. He successfully pleaded complex cases before a number of federal administrative tribunals, including the Agency and its predecessors.  He has argued cases, in both official languages, before the Federal Court, the Federal Court of Appeal and has appeared in all levels of the civil courts.  While practising law, he also taught “transportation law and regulation” at McGill University in Montréal for over ten years.  

He studied common law and civil law at the University of Ottawa and studied political economy at Université Laval in Québec City and at the University of Toronto. Mr. McMurray completed his articles of clerkship while working in the Law Department of the former Canadian Transport Commission. 

He has been a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada since 1986.

Date modified: