Canadian Transportation Agency Symbol of the Government of Canada

Costa Rica

1. Date of Agreement

Legal Title:
Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica on Air Transport
November 22, 1996
(ad referendum) Applied administratively
August 11, 2011
ad referendum
April 27, 2012
In force

2. Other Instruments

May 26, 1997
Diplomatic Note (Designation of Lineas Aereas Costarricensas, S.A. (LACSA)).
January 5, 2001
Diplomatic Note (Designation of Air Canada).

3. Characterization of Bilateral Agreement

A. Grant of Rights:
As specified in the Annex.
B. Designation:
Multiple, Air Canada, WestJet, Air Transat
 and LACSA.
C. Tariffs:
Full disapproval.
D. Capacity:
Pre-determination.

4. Routes and Associated Rights

The Contracting Parties agree that the designated airlines of each Contracting Party may operate the routes set out in the applicable section of this Annex, in accordance with the notes specified.

SECTION I

Airlines designated by the Government of Canada may operate scheduled passenger-combination air services and/or scheduled all-cargo air services in either or both directions between points on the following routes and in accordance with the following notes:

Points Behind Canada Points in Canada Intermediate Points Points in Costa Rica Points Beyond
Any point or points Any point or points Any point or points Any point or points Any point or points

Notes:

  1. Traffic may be picked up at Points in Canada and set down at Points in Costa Rica and vice versa. Traffic may be picked up at Points Behind Canada, at Intermediate Points, and at Points Beyond and set down at Points in Costa Rica and vice versa.
  2. Transit and own stopover rights shall be available at Points in Canada, at Intermediate Points, and at Points in Costa Rica.
  3. Each designated airline may, on any or all flights and at its option:
    1. serve Points in Costa Rica separately or in combination,
    2. omit any points on the route, provided that all services serve at least one of the Points in Canada, without directional or geographic limitation.
  4. Different flight numbers may be combined within one aircraft operation. Points Behind Canada may be served with or without change of aircraft or flight number and the designated airlines of Canada may hold out and advertise such services to the public as through services.
  5. The Contracting Parties require that the designated airlines of Canada notify the aeronautical authorities of the Republic of Costa Rica of air services to be operated between third countries and Points in Costa Rica ninety (90) days in advance or such lesser period as may be authorised by the aeronautical authorities of the Republic of Costa Rica and each of the points may be changed on ninety (90) days' notice to the aeronautical authorities of the Republic of Costa Rica or such lesser period as may be authorised by the aeronautical authorities of the Republic of Costa Rica.
    1. 1) Subject to the regulatory requirements normally applied to such operations by the aeronautical authorities of the Republic of Costa Rica, each designated airline of Canada may, at its discretion, enter into cooperative arrangements for the purposes of:
      1.  holding-out the agreed services on the specified routes by code-sharing (i.e. selling transportation under its own code) on flights operated by any airline or airlines of Canada, of Costa Rica, and/or of any third country or third countries; and/or on any surface transportation providers, and/or 
      2. carrying traffic under the code of any other airlines that have been authorized by the aeronautical authorities of the Republic of Costa Rica to sell transportation under their own codes on flights operated by the designated airline of Canada.
    2. 2) All airlines involved in code-sharing arrangements shall hold the appropriate underlying route authority.
    3. 3) Code-sharing services by each designated airline of Canada involving transportation between the Points in Costa Rica shall be restricted to flights operated by airlines authorised by the aeronautical authorities of the Republic of Costa Rica to provide services between the Points in Costa Rica. All transportation between the Points in Costa Rica under the code of each designated airline of Canada shall only be available as part of an international journey.
    4. 4) The aeronautical authorities of the Republic of Costa Rica shall not withhold permission for code-sharing services identified in Note 6 paragraph (1)(a) by the designated airlines of Canada on the basis that the airlines operating the aircraft do not have the right from Costa Rica to carry traffic under the codes of the airlines designated by Canada.
    5. 5) All participants in such code-sharing arrangements shall ensure that passengers are fully informed of the identity of the operator and the mode of transportation for each segment of the journey.
  6. The Contracting Parties permit each designated airline of Canada, at any points on the specified route and at its option, to transfer traffic between its own aircraft without any limitation as to type, size or number of aircraft, provided that, in the outbound direction, the transportation beyond such points is a continuation of the transportation from Canada and, in the inbound direction, the transportation to Canada is a continuation of the transportation from beyond such points and provided that all passenger and combination flights involved in the transfer originate or terminate in Canada. For the purpose of code-sharing services, airlines shall be permitted to transfer traffic between aircraft without limitation. 
  7. The Contracting Parties permit the designated airlines of Canada, when operating in the territory of Costa Rica:
    1. without restriction, to employ in connection with the agreed services any surface transportation for cargo to or from any points in the territories of the Contracting Parties or in third countries, including transport to and from all airports with customs facilities, and including, where applicable, the right to transport cargo in bond under applicable laws and regulations;
    2. to have access to airport customs processing and facilities for cargo moving by surface or by air; and
    3. to elect to perform their own surface transportation or to provide it through arrangements with surface carriers, subject to regulatory requirements, including surface transportation operated by other airlines.

Such intermodal cargo services may be offered at a single, through price for the air and surface transportation combined, provided that shippers are fully informed of the identity of the operator and the mode of transportation for each segment of the transportation.

SECTION II

Airlines designated by the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica may operate scheduled passenger-combination air services and/or scheduled all-cargo air services in either or both directions between points on the following routes and in accordance with the following notes:

Points Behind Costa Rica Points in Costa Rica Intermediate Points Points in Canada Points Beyond
Any point or points Any point or points Any point or points Any point or points Any point or points

Notes:

  1. Traffic may be picked up at Points in Costa Rica and set down at Points in Canada and vice versa. Traffic may be picked up at Points Behind Costa Rica, at Intermediate Points, and at Points Beyond and set down at Points in Canada and vice versa.
  2. Transit and own stopover rights shall be available at Points in Costa Rica, at Intermediate Points, and at Points in Canada.
  3. Each designated airline may, on any or all flights and at its option:
    1. serve Points in Canada separately or in combination, 
    2. omit any points on the route, provided that all services serve at least one of the Points in Costa Rica, without directional or geographic limitation.
  4. Different flight numbers may be combined within one aircraft operation. Points Behind Costa Rica may be served with or without change of aircraft or flight number and the designated airline(s) of Costa Rica may hold out and advertise such services to the public as through services.
  5. The Contracting Parties require that the designated airline(s) of Costa Rica notify the aeronautical authorities of Canada of air services to be operated between third countries and Points in Canada ninety (90) days in advance or such lesser period as may be authorised by the aeronautical authorities of Canada and each of the points may be changed on ninety (90) days' notice to the aeronautical authorities of Canada or such lesser period as may be authorised by the aeronautical authorities of Canada.
    1. 1) Subject to the regulatory requirements normally applied to such operations by the aeronautical authorities of Canada, each designated airline of Costa Rica may, at its discretion, enter into cooperative arrangements for the purposes of:
      1. holding-out the agreed services on the specified routes by code-sharing (i.e. selling transportation under its own code) on flights operated by any airline or airlines of Costa Rica, of Canada, and/or of any third country or third countries; and/or on any surface transportation providers; and/or 
      2. carrying traffic under the code of any other airlines that have been authorized by the aeronautical authorities of Canada to sell transportation under their own codes on flights operated by the designated airline of Costa Rica.
    2. 2) All airlines involved in code-sharing arrangements shall hold the appropriate underlying route authority.
    3. 3) Code-sharing services by each designated airline of Costa Rica involving transportation between the Points in Canada shall be restricted to flights operated by airlines authorised by the aeronautical authorities of Canada to provide services between the Points in Canada. All transportation between the Points in Canada under the code of each designated airline of Costa Rica shall only be available as part of an international journey.
    4. 4) The aeronautical authorities of Canada shall not withhold permission for code-sharing services identified in Note 6 paragraph (1)(a) by the designated airlines of Costa Rica on the basis that the airlines operating the aircraft do not have the right from Canada to carry traffic under the codes of the airlines designated by Costa Rica.
    5. 5) All participants in such code-sharing arrangements shall ensure that passengers are fully informed of the identity of the operator and the mode of transportation for each segment of the journey.
  6. The Contracting Parties permit each designated airline of Costa Rica, at any points on the specified route and at its option, to transfer traffic between its own aircraft without any limitation as to type, size or number of aircraft, provided that, in the outbound direction, the transportation beyond such points is a continuation of the transportation from Costa Rica and, in the inbound direction, the transportation to Costa Rica is a continuation of the transportation from beyond such points and provided that all passenger and combination flights involved in the transfer originate or terminate in Costa Rica. For the purpose of code-sharing services, airlines shall be permitted to transfer traffic between aircraft without limitation.
  7. The Contracting Parties permit the designated airlines of Costa Rica, when operating in the territory of Canada:
    1. without restriction, to employ in connection with the agreed services any surface transportation for cargo to or from any points in the territories of the Contracting Parties or in third countries, including transport to and from all airports with customs facilities, and including, where applicable, the right to transport cargo in bond under applicable laws and regulations; 
    2. to have access to airport customs processing and facilities for cargo moving by surface or by air; and
    3. to elect to perform their own surface transportation or to provide it through arrangements with surface providers, subject to regulatory requirements, including surface transportation operated by other airlines.

Such intermodal cargo services may be offered at a single, through price for the air and surface transportation combined, provided that shippers are fully informed of the identity of the operator and the mode of transportation for each segment of the transportation.

Office des transports du Canada Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Costa Rica

1. Date de l'Accord

Titre officiel :
Accord sur le transport aérien entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République de Costa Rica
Le 11 août 2011
ad referedum
Le 27 avril 2012
En vigueur

2. Autres actes

le 26 mai 1997
Note diplomatique [désignation de (LACSA) Lineas Aereas Costarricensas, S.A.]
le 5 janvier 2001
Note diplomatique (désignation d'Air Canada)

3. Caractérisation de l'Accord bilatéral

A. Octroi de droits :
Tel que spécifié à l'annexe
B. Désignation :
Multiple, Air Canada, WestJet, Air Transat et LACSA
C. Tarifs :
Désapprobation double
D. Capacité :
Détermination libre

4. Routes et droits applicables

Les Parties contractantes conviennent que les entreprises de transport aérien désignées par chacune des Parties contractantes peuvent exploiter les routes spécifiées dans la section applicable de la présente annexe, conformément aux remarques qui y sont énoncées.

SECTION I

Les entreprises de transport aérien désignées par le Gouvernement du Canada peuvent exploiter les services aériens réguliers pour le transport combiné de passagers et de marchandises et/ou les services aériens réguliers de transport tout-cargo dans l'une ou l'autre direction, ou les deux, entre des points situés sur les routes suivantes, et conformément aux remarques qui suivent :

Points en deçà du Canada Points au Canada Points intermédiaires Points au Costa Rica Points au-delà
Tout point ou tous points Tout point ou tous points Tout point ou tous points Tout point ou tous points Tout point ou tous points

Remarques :

  1. Le trafic peut être embarqué aux points au Canada et débarqué aux points au Costa Rica, et inversement. Le trafic peut être embarqué aux points en deçà du Canada, aux points intermédiaires et aux points au-delà, et débarqué aux points au Costa Rica, et inversement.
  2. Des droits de transit et des droits propres d'escale sont disponibles aux points au Canada, aux points intermédiaires et aux points au Costa Rica.
  3. Chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée peut, à son gré et pour quelque vol que ce soit :
    1. desservir des points au Costa Rica, de façon séparée ou combinée, 
    2. omettre tout point situé sur la route, à la condition que tous les services desservent au moins un des points au Canada, sans restriction géographique ou de direction.
  4. Différents numéros de vol peuvent être combinés pour une même exploitation d'aéronef. Les points en deçà du Canada peuvent être desservis avec ou sans changement d'appareil ou de numéro de vol, et les entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Canada peuvent présenter et annoncer ces services au public comme étant des services directs.
  5. Les Parties contractantes exigent que les entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Canada notifient aux autorités aéronautiques de la République du Costa Rica les services aériens qui seront exploités entre des pays tiers et des points au Costa Rica quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours à l'avance, ou dans un délai plus court si les autorités aéronautiques de la République du Costa Rica y consentent, chacun des points pouvant être modifié avec un préavis de quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours donné aux autorités aéronautiques de la République du Costa Rica, ou avec un préavis plus court si ces autorités y consentent.
    1. 1) Sous réserve des exigences réglementaires habituellement appliquées à de telles opérations par les autorités aéronautiques de la République du Costa Rica, chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada peut, à sa discrétion, conclure des arrangements de coopération aux fins suivantes :
      1. offrir les services convenus sur les routes spécifiées en vertu d'un partage de codes (c'est-à-dire vendre des services de transport sous son propre code) pour les vols exploités par toute entreprise de transport aérien du Canada, du Costa Rica et/ou de tout pays tiers, et/ou de tout transporteur terrestre;
      2. acheminer du trafic sous le code de toute autre entreprise de transport aérien autorisée par les autorités aéronautiques de la République du Costa Rica à vendre des services de transport sous son propre code pour les vols exploités par l'entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada.
    2. 2) Toutes les entreprises de transport aérien participant à des arrangements de partage de codes détiennent les autorisations adéquates pour les routes concernées.
    3. 3) Les services en partage de codes exploités par chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada comportant le transport entre des points au Costa Rica sont limités aux vols exploités par des entreprises de transport aérien autorisées par les autorités aéronautiques de la République du Costa Rica à fournir des services entre les points au Costa Rica. Les services de transport entre les points au Costa Rica sous le code de chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada ne sont offerts que dans le cadre d'un itinéraire international.
    4. 4) Les autorités aéronautiques de la République du Costa Rica ne peuvent refuser d'autoriser les services de partage de codes visés à l'alinéa (1)a) de la remarque no 6 offerts par les entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Canada au motif que les entreprises de transport aérien exploitant l'aéronef ne sont pas autorisées par le Costa Rica à acheminer du trafic sous les codes des entreprises de transport aérien désignées par le Canada.
    5. 5) Tous les participants à de tels arrangements de partage de codes font en sorte que les passagers soient pleinement informés de l'identité de l'exploitant et du mode de transport pour chaque segment du trajet.
  6. Les Parties contractantes autorisent chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada, en tous points situés sur la route spécifiée et à sa discrétion, à transférer du trafic entre des aéronefs lui appartenant, sans restriction quant au type, à la taille ou au nombre d'aéronefs, à la condition qu'à l'aller, le transport au-delà de ces points soit la continuation d'un vol en provenance du Canada et qu'au retour, le transport à destination du Canada soit la continuation d'un vol en provenance de points situés au-delà de ces points, et que tous les vols de passagers et les vols combinés de passagers et de marchandises touchés par le transfert aient le Canada pour origine ou destination finale. Aux fins des services en partage de codes, les entreprises de transport aérien peuvent effectuer des transferts de trafic entre aéronefs sans restriction.
  7. Les Parties contractantes accordent aux entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Canada les autorisations suivantes lorsqu'elles exploitent leurs activités au Costa Rica :
    1. utiliser sans restriction, en rapport avec les services convenus, tout transport terrestre pour les marchandises en provenance ou à destination de tout point situé sur le territoire des Parties contractantes ou dans des pays tiers, y compris le transport en provenance ou à destination de tout aéroport disposant d'installations douanières, y compris, s'il y a lieu, le droit de transporter des marchandises sous douane conformément à la législation et à la réglementation applicables;
    2. avoir accès aux installations et aux services douaniers des aéroports pour les marchandises transportées par voie terrestre ou aérienne;
    3. choisir de procéder elles-mêmes au transport terrestre ou le fournir dans le cadre d'arrangements en concluant des ententes avec des transporteurs terrestres, sous réserve des exigences réglementaires, y compris recourir aux services de transport terrestre fournis par d'autres entreprises de transport aérien.

Ces services intermodaux de transport peuvent être offerts à un tarif unique de point à point pour le transport aérien et terrestre combiné, à la condition que les expéditeurs soient pleinement informés de l'identité du transporteur et du mode de transport pour chaque portion du trajet.

SECTION II

Les entreprises de transport aérien désignées par le Gouvernement de la République du Costa Rica peuvent exploiter les services aériens réguliers pour le transport combiné de passagers et de marchandises et/ou les services aériens réguliers de transport tout-cargo dans l'une ou l'autre direction, ou les deux, entre des points situés sur les routes suivantes, et conformément aux remarques qui suivent :

Points en deçà du Costa Rica Points au Costa Rica Points intermédiaires Points au Canada Points au-delà
Tout point ou tous points Tout point ou tous points Tout point ou tous points Tout point ou tous points Tout point ou tous point

Remarques :

  1. Le trafic peut être embarqué aux points au Costa Rica et débarqué aux points au Canada, et inversement. Le trafic peut être embarqué aux points en deçà du Costa Rica, aux points intermédiaires et aux points au-delà, et débarqué aux points au Canada, et inversement.
  2. Des droits de transit et des droits propres d'escale sont disponibles aux points au Costa Rica, aux points intermédiaires et aux points au Canada.
  3. Chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée peut, à son gré et pour quelque vol que ce soit :
    1. desservir des points au Canada, de façon séparée ou combinée,
    2. omettre tout point situé sur la route, à la condition que tous les services desservent au moins un des points au Costa Rica, sans restriction géographique ou de direction.
  4. Différents numéros de vol peuvent être combinés pour une même exploitation d'aéronef. Les points en deçà du Costa Rica peuvent être desservis avec ou sans changement d'appareil ou de numéro de vol, et les entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Costa Rica peuvent présenter et annoncer ces services au public comme étant des services directs.
  5. Les Parties contractantes exigent que les entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Costa Rica notifient aux autorités aéronautiques du Canada les services aériens qui seront exploités entre des pays tiers et des points au Canada quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours à l'avance, ou dans un délai plus court si les autorités aéronautiques du Canada y consentent, chacun des points pouvant être modifié avec un préavis de quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours donné aux autorités aéronautiques du Canada, ou avec un préavis plus court si ces autorités y consentent.
    1. 1) Sous réserve des exigences réglementaires habituellement appliquées à de telles opérations par les autorités aéronautiques du Canada, chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Costa Rica peut, à sa discrétion, conclure des arrangements de coopération aux fins suivantes :
      1. offrir les services convenus sur les routes spécifiées en vertu d'un partage de codes (c'est-à-dire vendre des services de transport sous son propre code) pour les vols exploités par toute entreprise de transport aérien du Costa Rica, du Canada et/ou de tout pays tiers, et/ou de tout transporteur terrestre;
      2. acheminer du trafic sous le code de toute autre entreprise de transport aérien autorisée par les autorités aéronautiques du Canada à vendre des services de transport sous son propre code pour les vols exploités par l'entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Costa Rica.
    2. 2) Toutes les entreprises de transport aérien participant à des arrangements de partage de codes détiennent les autorisations adéquates pour les routes concernées.
    3. 3) Les services en partage de codes exploités par chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Costa Rica comportant le transport entre des points au Canada sont limités aux vols exploités par des entreprises de transport aérien autorisées par les autorités aéronautiques du Canada à fournir des services entre les points au Canada. Les services de transport entre les points au Canada sous le code de chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Costa Rica ne sont offerts que dans le cadre d'un itinéraire international.
    4. 4) Les autorités aéronautiques du Canada ne peuvent refuser d'autoriser les entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Costa Rica à fournir les services en partage de codes visés à l'alinéa (1)a) de la remarque no 6 offerts par les entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Costa Rica au motif que les entreprises de transport aérien exploitant l'aéronef ne sont pas autorisées par le Canada à acheminer du trafic sous les codes des entreprises de transport aérien désignées par le Costa Rica.
    5. 5) Tous les participants à de tels arrangements de partage de codes font en sorte que les passagers soient pleinement informés de l'identité du transporteur et du mode de transport pour chaque segment du trajet.
  6. Les Parties contractantes autorisent chaque entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Costa Rica, en tous points situés sur la route spécifiée et à sa discrétion, à transférer du trafic entre des aéronefs lui appartenant, sans restriction quant au type, à la taille ou au nombre d'aéronefs, à la condition qu'à l'aller, le transport au-delà de ces points soit la continuation d'un vol en provenance du Costa Rica et qu'au retour, le transport à destination du Costa Rica soit la continuation d'un vol en provenance de points situés au-delà de ces points, et que tous les vols de passagers et les vols combinés de passagers et de marchandises touchés par le transfert aient le Costa Rica pour origine ou destination finale. Aux fins des services de partage de codes, les entreprises de transport aérien peuvent effectuer des transferts de trafic entre aéronefs sans restriction.
  7. Les Parties contractantes accordent aux entreprises de transport aérien désignées du Costa Rica les autorisations suivantes lorsqu'elles exploitent leurs activités au Canada :
    1. utiliser sans restriction, en rapport avec les services convenus, tout transport terrestre pour les marchandises en provenance ou à destination de tout point situé sur le territoire des Parties contractantes ou dans des pays tiers, y compris le transport en provenance ou à destination de tout aéroport disposant d'installations douanières, y compris, s'il y a lieu, le droit de transporter des marchandises sous douane conformément à la législation et à la réglementation applicables;
    2. avoir accès aux installations et aux services douaniers des aéroports pour les marchandises transportées par voie terrestre ou aérienne;
    3. choisir de procéder elles-mêmes au transport terrestre ou le fournir en concluant des ententes avec des transporteurs terrestres, sous réserve des exigences réglementaires, y compris recourir aux services de transport terrestre fournis par d'autres entreprises de transport aérien.

Ces services de transport intermodaux peuvent être offerts à un tarif unique de point à point pour le transport aérien et terrestre combiné, à la condition que les expéditeurs soient pleinement informés de l'identité du transporteur et du mode de transport pour chaque portion du trajet.