Philippines

Philippines

1. Date of Agreement

Legal Title:
Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of the Philippines on Air Transport
May 15, 2008
(ad referendum) Applied administratively

2. Other Instruments

September 11, 1996
Agreed Minute (The delegations agreed on the text of a bilateral Air Transport Agreement),
January 14, 1997
Agreement signed
May 20 & 30, 1997
Diplomatic Notes (Entry into Force of 1997 Agreement)
March 7 and March 19, 2001
Diplomatic Notes (Republic of the Philippines requests access to the transit without visa program at Vancouver International Airport for Philippine Airlines. Request granted).
May 15, 2008
Record of discussion (new ad referendum Agreement to replace the 1997 Agreement)

3. Characterization of Bilateral Agreement

A. Grant of Rights:
As specified in the Annex.
B. Designation:
Multiple, Air Canada and Philippine Airlines.
C. Tariffs:
Single disapproval.
D. Capacity:
Pre-determination: own aircraft.
Free determination – code-share

4. Routes and Associated Rights

The following routes and associated rights reflect the previous Air Transport Agreement signed on January 14, 1997. Revised changes to the routes and associated rights were agreed ad referendum on May 15, 2008 and are confidential until definitively entered into force.

PHILIPPINES - ROUTE 1
Points in the PhilippinesIntermediate PointsPoints in CanadaPoints Beyond

Any point or points

Any point or points

Three points

Any point or points

Notes:

  1. Points in Canada may be served separately or as co-terminals without stopover privileges between points in Canada. Points in Canada may be changed each IATA season, unless a shorter period is agreed by the aeronautical authorities of Canada.

  2. Transit and stopover rights shall be available at the Intermediate Points, and at the Points in Canada for traffic to and from the Beyond Points.

  3. The Intermediate Points and/or the Beyond Points may at the option of the designated airline(s) of the Philippines be omitted or any or all flights provided that all services originate or terminate in the Philippines. The selection of the Intermediate Points and Beyond Points may be changed on not less than ten (10) days' notification to the aeronautical authorities of Canada where only transit rights are exercised and each IATA season where fifth freedom rights are exercised, unless a shorter period is agreed by the aeronautical authorities of Canada.

  4. Fifth freedom traffic rights shall be available between intermediate points in the USA and the Points in Canada (except between points in California and Toronto) and between the Points in Canada and beyond points in the USA. Fifth freedom rights may only be exercised on up to two (2) route sectors at any one time. The frequency for the exercise of fifth freedom rights on each route sector shall be restricted to a maximum of four (4) flights per week in each direction. Fifth freedom traffic carried on each route sector shall be restricted to no more than fifty percent (50%) of the aircraft capacity used on that route sector, calculated on an annual basis.

  5. Subject only to normal regulatory requirements, the designated airline(s) of the Philippines shall have the right, while operating the agreed services, to enter into cooperative arrangements for the purpose of code sharing (selling transportation under its own code) on flights of the designated airline(s) of Canada. Subject to the approval of the aeronautical authorities of Canada, the designated airline(s) of the Philippines may also operate code sharing services between the Points in Canada and Beyond Points on the flights of any third country airline licensed by Canada which is operating scheduled air services on the route sector. Each route sector used for code sharing on the flights of a third country airline shall reduce by one (1) the number of route sectors in Note 4 specified as available for the exercise of fifth freedom rights. No fifth freedom rights shall be exercised in conjunction with code sharing on the flights of a third country airline.

  6. For the purposes of Article XI (Capacity), the Government of the Republic of the Philippines shall be entitled to allocate among its designated airlines up to a maximum of four (4) flights per week in each direction for own aircraft flights.

PHILIPPINES - ALL-CARGO - ROUTE
Points in the PhilippinesIntermediate PointsPoints in CanadaPoints Beyond

Any point or points

To be agreed

Any point or points

To be agreed

Notes:

  1. Points in Canada may be served separately or as co-terminals. Points in Canada may be changed each IATA season, unless a shorter period is agreed by the aeronautical authorities of Canada.

  2. Transit rights shall be available at the Intermediate Points and at the Points in Canada.

  3. The Intermediate Points and/or the Beyond Points may at the option of the designated airline of the Philippines be omitted on any or all flights provided that all services originate or terminate in the Philippines. The selection of the Intermediate Points and Beyond Points may be changed on not less than ten (10) days' notification to the aeronautical authorities of Canada where only transit rights are exercised.

  4. Capacity shall be agreed between Contracting Parties.

CANADA - ROUTE 1
Points in CanadaIntermediate PointsPoints in the PhilippinesPoints Beyond

Any point or points

Any point or points

Three points

Any point or points

Notes:

  1. Points in the Philippines may be served separately or as co-terminals without stopover privileges between points in the Philippines. Points in the Philippines may be changed each IATA season, unless a shorter period is agreed by the aeronautical authorities of the Philippines.

  2. Transit and stopover rights shall be available at the Intermediate Points, and at Points in the Philippines for traffic to and from the Beyond Points.

  3. The Intermediate Points and/or the Beyond Points may at the option of the designated airline(s) of Canada be omitted on any or all flights provided that all services originate or terminate in Canada. The selection of the Intermediate Points and Beyond Points may be changed on not less than ten (10) days' notification to the aeronautical authorities of the Philippines where only transit rights are exercised and each IATA season where fifth freedom rights are exercised, unless a shorter period is agreed by the aeronautical authorities of the Philippines.

  4. Fifth freedom traffic rights shall be available between intermediate points in Asia (east of India and north of Australia) and the Points in the Philippines (except between points in Korea and Manila) and between the Points in the Philippines and points beyond in Asia (east of India and north of Australia). Fifth freedom rights may only be exercised on up to two (2) route sectors at any one time. The frequency for the exercise of fifth freedom rights on each route sector shall be restricted to a maximum of four (4) flights per week in each direction. Fifth freedom traffic carried on each route sector shall be restricted to no more than fifty percent (50%) of the aircraft capacity used on that route sector, calculated on an annual basis.

  5. Subject only to normal regulatory requirements, the designated airline(s) of Canada shall have the right, while operating the agreed services, to enter into co-operative arrangements for the purpose of code sharing (selling transportation under its own code) on the flights of the designated airline(s) of the Philippines. Subject to the approval of the aeronautical authorities of the Philippines, the designated airline(s) of Canada may also operate code sharing services between the Points in the Philippines and Beyond Points on the flights of any third country airline licensed by the Philippines which is operating scheduled air services on the route sector. Each route sector used for code sharing on the flights of a third country airline shall reduce by one (1) the number of route sectors in Note 4 specified as available for the exercise of fifth freedom rights. No fifth freedom rights shall be exercised in conjunction with code sharing on the flights of third country airline.

  6. For the purposes of Article XI (Capacity), the Government of Canada shall be entitled to allocate amount its designated airlines up to maximum of four (4) flights per week in each direction for own aircraft flights.

CANADA - ALL-CARGO - ROUTE
Points in CanadaIntermediate PointsPoints in the PhilippinesPoints Beyond

Any point or points

To be agreed

Any point or points

To be agreed

Notes:

  1. Points in the Philippines may be served separately or as co-terminals. Points in the Philippines may be changed each IATA season, unless a shorter period is agreed by the aeronautical authorities of the Philippines.

  2. Transit rights shall be available at the Intermediate Points and at the Points in the Philippines.

  3. The Intermediate Points and/or the Beyond Points may at the option of the designated airline of Canada be omitted on any or all flights provided that all services originate or terminate in Canada. The selection of the Intermediate Points and Beyond Points may be changed on not less than ten (10) days' notification to the aeronautical authorities of the Philippines where only transit rights are exercised.

  4. Capacity shall be agreed between the Contracting Parties.

Date modified:

Philippines

Philippines

1. Date de l'Accord

Titre officiel :
Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République des Philippines concernant le transport aérien.
Le 15 mai 2008
(ad referendum) Application à titre administratif

2. Autres actes

Le 11 septembre 1996
Procès-verbal approuvé (les délégations conviennent du libellé d'un accord bilatéral sur le transport aérien)
Le 14 janvier 1997
Accord signé
Les 20 et 30 mai 1997
Notes diplomatique (entrée en vigueur de l'accord de 1997)
Les 7 et 19 mars 2001
Notes diplomatiques - (La République des Philippines demande d'accéder au programme de transit sans visa à l'aéroport International de Vancouver pour Philippine Airlines. Demande autorisée).
Le 15 mai 2008
Procès-verbal (le nouvel accord ad referendum remplacera l'accord de 1997)

3. Caractérisation de l'Accord bilatéral

A. Octroi de droits :
Tel que spécifié à l'annexe
B. Désignation :
Multiple, Air Canada et Philippine Airlines
C. Tarifs :
Désapprobation unique.
D. Capacité :
Détermination au préalable, propres aéronefs. Libre détermination pour les vols en partage de codes.

4. Routes et droits applicables

Les routes et droits applicables qui suivent reflètent l'accord précédent sur le transport aérien qui a été signé le 14 janvier 1997. Les modifications aux routes et droits applicables ont été acceptées ad referendum le 15 mai 2008 et demeurent confidentielles jusqu'à ce qu'elles entrent définitivement en vigueur.

PHILIPPINES - ROUTE 1
Points aux PhilippinesPoints intermédiairesPoints au CanadaPoints au-delà

Un ou plusieurs points

Un ou plusieurs points

Trois points

Un ou plusieurs points

Notes:

  1. Les points au Canada peuvent être desservis séparément ou comme points co-terminaux sans droit d'arrêt intermédiaire entre les points au Canada. Les points au Canada peuvent être modifiés à chaque période de l'IATA, à moins que les autorités aéronautiques du Canada n'approuvent un délai plus court.

  2. Les droits de trafic en transit et d'arrêt intermédiaire seront accordés aux points intermédiaires et aux points au Canada pour le trafic à destination et en provenance des points au-delà.

  3. Les points intermédiaires et/ou les points au-delà peuvent, à la discrétion de la ou des lignes aériennes désignées par les Philippines, être omis lors d'un ou de tous les vols pourvu que tous les services aient les Philippines comme point d'origine ou de destination. Le choix de points intermédiaires et de points ou-delà peut être modifié sur avis d'au moins dix (10) jours aux autorités aéronautiques du Canada lorsque seuls des droits de trafic en transit sont exercés et à chaque période de l'IATA lorsque des droits de cinquième liberté sont exercés, à moins qu'une période plus courte ne soit approuvée par les autorités aéronautiques du Canada.

  4. Les droits de cinquième liberté seront accordés entre les points intermédiaires aux États-Unis et les points au Canada (sauf entre les points en Californie et Toronto) et entre les points au Canada et les points au-delà situés aux États-Unis. Les droits de cinquième liberté ne peuvent être exercés qu'à l'égard de seulement deux (2) tronçons de route à la fois. La fréquence de l'exercice des droits de cinquième liberté sur chaque tronçon de route sera limitée à au plus quatre (4) vols hebdomadaires dans chaque direction. Le trafic de cinquième liberté sur chaque tronçon de route sera limité à au plus cinquante pour cent (50 p. 100) de la capacité de l'aéronef utilisé sur ce tronçon de route, calculé annuellement.

  5. Sous réserve uniquement des exigences réglementaires normales, la ou les lignes aériennes désignées des Philippines pourront, lors de l'exploitation de services convenus, conclure des ententes coopératives de partage de codes (vente de services de transport sous leurs propres codes) relativement aux vols exploités par la ou les lignes aériennes désignées par le Canada. Sous réserve de l'approbation des autorités aéronautiques du Canada, la ou les lignes aériennes désignées par les Philippines peuvent également exploiter des services sur la base d'un partage de codes entre les points au Canada et les points au-delà sur les vols d'une ligne aérienne de tout pays tiers autorisée par le Canada et qui exploite des services aériens réguliers sur le tronçon de route. Chaque tronçon de route faisant l'objet d'un partage de codes sur les vols exploités par une ligne aérienne d'un tiers pays réduira de un (1) le nombre de tronçons de route dont fait état la Note 4 désignés comme étant disponibles aux fins de l'exercice des droits de cinquième liberté. Aucun droit de cinquième liberté ne sera exercé dans le cadre d'une entente de partage de codes sur les vols exploités par une ligne aérienne d'un tiers pays.

  6. Aux fins de l'application de l'article XI (Capacité), le gouvernement de la République des Philippines pourra répartir entre ses lignes aériennes désignées jusqu'à quatre (4) vols hebdomadaires dans chaque direction pour les vols exploités à l'aide de leurs propres aéronefs.

PHILIPPINES - TOUT CARGO - ROUTE 2
Points aux PhilippinesPoints intermédiairesPoints au CanadaPoints au-delà

Un ou plusieurs points

À déterminer d'un commun accord

Un ou plusieurs points

À déterminer d'un commun accord

Notes

  1. Les points au Canada peuvent être desservis séparément ou comme points co-terminaux. Les points au Canada peuvent être modifiés à chaque période de l'IATA, à moins qu'une période plus courte ne soit approuvée par les autorités aéronautiques du Canada.

  2. Les droits de trafic en transit seront accordés aux points intermédiaires et aux points au Canada.

  3. Les points intermédiaires et/ou les points au-delà peuvent, à la discrétion de la ligne aérienne désignée par les Philippines, être omis lors d'un ou de tous les vols pourvu que tous les services aient les Philippines comme point d'origine ou de destination. Le choix des points intermédiaires et des points au-delà peut être modifié sur avis d'au moins dix (10) jours aux autorités aéronautiques du Canada lorsque seuls les droits de trafic en transit sont exercés.

  4. Les parties contractantes conviendront de la capacité.

CANADA - ROUTE 1
Points au CanadaPoints intermédiairesPoints aux PhilippinesPoints au-delà

Un ou plusieurs points

Un ou plusieurs points

Trois points

Un ou plusieurs points

Notes

  1. Les points aux Philippines peuvent être desservis séparément ou comme points co-terminaux sans droit d'arrêt intermédiaire entre les points aux Philippines. Les points aux Philippines peuvent être modifiés à chaque période de l'IATA, à moins que les autorités aéronautiques des Philippines n'approuvent un délai plus court.

  2. Les droits de trafic en transit et d'arrêt intermédiaire seront accordés aux points intermédiaires et aux points aux Philippines pour le trafic à destination et en provenance des points au-delà.

  3. Les points intermédiaires et/ou les points au-delà peuvent, à la discrétion de la ou des lignes aériennes désignées par le Canada, être omis sur un ou tous les vols, pourvu que tous les services aient le Canada comme point d'origine ou de destination. Le choix des points intermédiaires et des points au-delà peut être modifié sur avis d'au moins dix (10) jours aux autorités aéronautiques des Philippines lorsque seuls les droits de trafic en transit sont exercés et à chaque période de l'IATA lorsque des droits de cinquième liberté sont exercés, à moins qu'une période plus courte ne soit approuvée par les autorités aéronautiques des Philippines.

  4. Les droits de cinquième liberté seront accordés entre les points intermédiaires en Asie (à l'est de l'Inde et au nord de l'Australie) et les points aux Philippines (sauf entre les points en Corée et Manille) et entre les points aux Philippines et les points au-delà en Asie (à l'est de l'Inde et au nord de l'Australie). Les droits de cinquième liberté ne peuvent être exercés qu'à l'égard de seulement deux (2) tronçons de route à la fois. La fréquence de l'exercice des droits de cinquième liberté sur chaque tronçon de route sera limitée à au plus quatre (4) vols hebdomadaires dans chaque direction. Le trafic de cinquième liberté sur chaque tronçon de route sera limité à au plus cinquante pour cent (50 p. 100) de la capacité de l'aéronef utilisé sur ce tronçon de route, calculé annuellement.

  5. Sous réserve uniquement des exigences réglementaires normales, la ou les lignes aériennes désignées par le Canada pourront, lors de l'exploitation des services convenus, conclure des ententes coopératives de partage de codes (vente de services de transport sous leurs propres codes) relativement aux vols exploités par la ou les lignes aériennes désignées des Philippines. Sous réserve de l'approbation des autorités aéronautiques des Philippines, la ou les lignes aériennes désignées par le Canada peuvent également exploiter des services sur la base d'un partage de codes entre les points aux Philippines et les points au-delà sur les vols d'une ligne aérienne de tout pays tiers autorisée par les Philippines et qui exploite des services aériens réguliers sur le tronçon de route. Chaque tronçon de route faisant l'objet d'un partage de codes sur les vols exploités par une ligne aérienne d'un tiers pays réduira de un (1) le nombre de tronçons de route dont fait état la Note 4 désignés comme étant disponibles aux fins de l'exercice des droits de cinquième liberté. Aucun droit de cinquième liberté ne sera exercé dans le cadre d'une entente de partage de codes sur les vols exploités par une ligne aérienne d'un tiers pays.

  6. Aux fins de l'application de l'article XI (Capacité), le gouvernement du Canada pourra répartir entre ses lignes aériennes désignées jusqu'à quatre (4) vols hebdomadaires dans chaque direction pour les vols exploités à l'aide de leurs propres aéronefs.

CANADA - TOUT CARGO - ROUTE 2
Points au CanadaPoints intermédiairesPoints aux PhilippinesPoints au-delà

Un ou plusieurs points

À déterminer d'un commun accord

Un ou plusieurs points

À déterminer d'un commun accord

Notes:

  1. Les points aux Philippines peuvent être desservis séparément ou comme points co-terminaux. Les points aux Philippines peuvent être modifiés à chaque période de l'IATA, à moins qu'une période plus courte ne soit approuvée par les autorités aéronautiques des Philippines.

  2. Les droits de trafic en transit seront accordés aux points intermédiaires et aux points aux Philippines.

  3. Les points intermédiaires et/ou les points au-delà peuvent, à la discrétion de la ligne aérienne désignée par le Canada, être omis lors d'un ou de tous les vols, pourvu que tous les services aient le Canada comme point d'origine ou de destination. Le choix des points intermédiaires et des points au-delà peut être modifié sur avis d'au moins dix (10) jours aux autorités aéronautiques des Philippines lorsque seuls les droits de trafic en transit sont exercés.

  4. Les parties contractantes conviendront de la capacité.

Date de modification :