Canadian Transportation Agency Symbol of the Government of Canada

Ukraine

1. Date of Agreement

Legal Title:
Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of Ukraine on Air Transport
January 28, 1999
Agreement signed
April 28, 1999
Entered into force

2. Other Instruments

June 6, 1997
Agreed Minute (Agreement reached ad referendum)
April 28, 1999
Diplomatic Note (Agreement entered into force)
February 26, 2001
Diplomatic Note (Ukraine designation of Ukrainian-Mediterranean Airlines)
February 25, 2002
Diplomatic Note (Ukraine designation of AeroSvit)

3. Characterization of Bilateral Agreement

A. Grant of Rights:
As specified in the Annex.
B. Designation:
Multiple, Air Canada, Ukrainian-Mediterranean Airlines and AeroSvit.
C. Tariffs:
Single disapproval.
D. Capacity:
Pre-determination. (See Section 4 for capacity entitlements).

4. Routes and Associated Rights

UKRAINE

Points in Ukraine

Intermediate Points

Points in Canada

Points Beyond

Any point or points

Any point or points

Toronto
One additional point to be selected by Ukraine

Notes:

  1. At the option of the designated airline(s), intra-airline connections may be made at any of the Points in Ukraine and at the Intermediate Points

  2. Any or all of the Intermediate Points at the option of the designated airline(s) may be omitted on any or all services provided that all services originate or terminate in Ukraine. Chicago, USA may also be served beyond Toronto with own aircraft flights.

  3. Transit rights shall be available at the Intermediate Points and at Toronto. Fifth freedom rights shall be available on two flights per week in each direction between Toronto and Chicago.

  4. Points in Canada shall be served separately and not in combination with one another. The one additional point in Canada to be selected may be changed each IATA season or such lesser period as may be agreed by the aeronautical authorities of Canada.

  5. As an alternative to own aircraft same-plane services, one designated airline of Ukraine may enter into co-operative arrangements for the purpose of code sharing (selling transportation under its own code on the flights of another airline) subject to the regulatory requirements normally applied by the aeronautical authorities of Canada to such arrangements. A second designated airline of Ukraine may operate code sharing services subject to approval of the aeronautical authorities of Canada. Code sharing services shall be permitted on the flights (except flights to/from points in the USA) of any two third country airlines that operate scheduled air services to/from the Points in Canada. One intermediate point shall be available for the purposes of code sharing and that point may be changed each IATA season or such lesser period as may be agreed by the aeronautical authorities of Canada. Effective March 31, 1999 two intermediate points shall be available for the purposes of code sharing. For the purposes of code sharing services the designated airline of Ukraine shall be entitled to transfer traffic between aircraft.

  6. For the purposes of Article XI (Capacity), the Government of Ukraine shall be entitled to allocate the following capacity among its designated airline(s), subject to the following conditions:

    • for own aircraft services, up to a maximum of two flights per week in each direction until March 31, 1999 following which up to a maximum of three flights per week in each direction. After March 31, 1999 three flights per week at Toronto may be operated but shall require an intermediate or beyond stop at Chicago on one flight per week, or,

    • for code sharing services, at the discretion of the designated airline of Ukraine, to both of the Points in Canada up to daily service from each of the Points in Ukraine and no greater frequency of flights than that operated by the code sharing partner(s) of the designated airline of Ukraine.

  7. Should a designated airline of Ukraine provide a service to points behind/beyond its home country in connection with the route(s) specified above, public advertising or other forms of promotion by that airline in Canada or in third countries shall not employ the terms "single carrier " or "through service", and shall state that such service is by connecting flights, even when for operational reasons a single aircraft is used. The flight number assigned to the services between Ukraine and Canada shall not be the same as that assigned to flights behind/beyond the home country of the airline performing the service.

CANADA

Points in Canada

Intermediate Points

Points in Ukraine

Points Beyond

Any point or points

Any point or points

Kyiv
One additional point to be selected by Canada

Notes:

  1. At the option of the designated airline(s), intra-airline connections may be made at any of the Points in Canada and at the Intermediate Points.

  2. Any or all of the Intermediate Points at the option of the designated airline(s) may be omitted on any or all services provided that all services originate or terminate in Canada.

  3. Transit rights shall be available at the Intermediate Points. No fifth freedom rights shall be available.

  4. Points in Ukraine shall be served separately and not in combination with one another. The one additional point in Ukraine to be selected may be changed each IATA season or such lesser period as may be agreed by the aeronautical authorities of Ukraine.

  5. As an alternative to own aircraft same-plane services, one designated airline of Canada may enter into co-operative arrangements for the purpose of code sharing (selling transportation under its own code on the flights of another airline) subject to the regulatory requirements normally applied by the aeronautical authorities of Ukraine to such arrangements. A second designated airline of Canada may operate code sharing services subject to approval of the aeronautical authorities of Ukraine. Code sharing services shall be permitted on the flights of any two airlines that operate scheduled air services to/from the Points in Ukraine. One intermediate point shall be available for the purposes of code sharing and that point may be changed each IATA season or such lesser period as may be agreed by the aeronautical authorities of Ukraine. Effective March 31, 1999 two intermediate points shall be available for the purposes of code sharing. For the purposes of code sharing services the designated airline of Canada shall be entitled to transfer traffic between aircraft.

  6. For the purposes of Article XI (Capacity), the Government of Canada shall be entitled to allocate the following capacity among its designated airline(s), subject to the following conditions:

    • for own aircraft services, up to a maximum of two flights per week in each direction until March 31, 1999 following which up to a maximum of three flights per week in each direction, or,

    • for code sharing services, at the discretion of the designated airline of Canada, to both of the Points in Ukraine up to daily service from each of the Points in Canada and no greater frequency of flights than that operated by the code sharing partner(s) of the designated airline of Canada.

  7. Should a designated airline of Canada provide a service to points behind/beyond its home country in connection with the route(s) specified above, public advertising or other forms of promotion by that airline in Ukraine or in third countries shall not employ the terms "single carrier" or "through service", and shall state that such service is by connecting flights, even when for operational reasons a single aircraft is used. The flight number assigned to the services between Canada and Ukraine shall not be the same as that assigned to flights behind/beyond the home country of the airline performing the service.

Ukraine

1. Date de l'Accord

Titre officiel :
Accord de transport aérien entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de l'Ukraine
Le 28 janvier 1999
Accord signé
Le 28 avril 1999
Définitivement en vigueur

2. Autres actes

Le 6 juin 1997
Procès-verbal approuvé (accord ad referendum)
Le 28 avril 1999
Note diplomatique (entrée en vigueur de l'Accord)
Le 26 février 2001
Note diplomatique (Ukraine désigne Ukrainian-Mediterranean Airlines)
Le 25 février 2002
Note diplomatique (Ukraine désigne AeroSvit)

3. Caractérisation de l'Accord bilatéral

A. Octroi de. droits :
Tel que spécifié à l'annexe
B. Désignation :
Multiple, Air Canada, Ukrainian-Mediterranean Airlines et AeroSvit
C. Tarifs :
Désapprobation unique.
D. Capacité :
Détermination au préalable (voir tableau de routes et droits relatifs à la capacité assurée).

4. Routes et droits applicables

UKRAINE
Points en UkrainePoints intermédiairesPoints au CanadaPoints au-delà

Tout point ou tous points

Tout point ou tous points

Toronto.
Un point additionnel à être choisi par l'Ukraine

Notes:

  1. Au gré de l'entreprise ou des entreprises de transport aérien désignées, les correspondances intra-entreprises de transport aérien peuvent être faites à tous points en Ukraine et aux points intermédiaires.

  2. Un ou tous les Points intermédiaires peuvent être omis, au gré de l'entreprise ou des entreprises de transport aérien désignées, pour tout vol ou tous les vols, pourvu qu'ils aient pour origine ou qu'ils se terminent en Ukraine. Chicago (États-Unis) peut également être desservie au-delà Toronto sur des vols utilisant leurs propres aéronefs.

  3. Les droits de transit peuvent être exercés aux points intermédiaires et à Toronto. Les droits de la cinquième liberté peuvent être exercés pour deux vols par semaine dans chaque sens entre Toronto et Chicago.

  4. Les points au Canada doivent être desservis séparément et non en combinaison les uns avec les autres. Le point additionnel au Canada qui sera choisi peut être changé à chaque saison de l'IATA, ou dans un délai plus court si les autorités aéronautiques du Canada y consentent.

  5. À titre de solution subsidiaire aux services assurés par un seul de ses propres aéronefs, une entreprise de transport aérien désignée de l'Ukraine peut prendre des arrangements coopératifs aux fins de partage de codes (vente de titres de transport sous son propre code sur les vols d'une autre entreprise de transport aérien), sous réserve des conditions réglementaires normalement exigées par les autorités aéronautiques du Canada pour ces arrangements. Sous réserve de l'approbation des autorités aéronautiques du Canada, une deuxième entreprise de transport aérien désignée d'Ukraine peut assurer des services de partage de codes. Le partage de codes est autorisé sur les vols (sauf les vols à destination et en provenance des États-Unis) de deux entreprises de transport aérien de pays tiers qui exploitent des services aériens réguliers à destination ou en provenance des points au Canada. Un point intermédiaire peut être choisi aux fins de partage de codes, et ce point peut être changé à chaque saison de l'IATA ou dans un délai plus court si les autorités aéronautiques du Canada y consentent. À compter du 31 mars 1999, deux points intermédiaires seront disponibles aux fins de partage de codes. Aux fins de l'exploitation des services par partage de codes, l'entreprise de transport aérien désignée d'Ukraine sera autorisée à transférer du trafic d'un de ses aéronefs à un autre.

  6. Aux fins de l'article XI (Capacité), le gouvernement d'Ukraine est autorisé à attribuer la capacité suivante entre ses entreprises de transport aérien désignées, sous réserve des modalités suivantes :

    • pour les services par leurs propres aéronefs, au plus deux vols par semaine dans chaque sens jusqu'au 31 mars 1999 et, par la suite, au plus trois vols par semaine dans chaque direction. Après le 31 mars 1999, trois vols par semaine pourront avoir lieu à Toronto, mais il faudra prévoir un arrêt intermédiaire, ou au-delà, à Chicago, pour un vol par semaine;

    • ou, en ce qui concerne les services par partage de codes, au gré de l'entreprise de transport aérien désignée d'Ukraine, aux deux points au Canada, jusqu'à une exploitation quotidienne de chaque point en Ukraine, et sans plus de fréquence de vols que ceux exploités par le ou les associés dans le partage de codes de l'entreprise de transport aérien désignée d'Ukraine.

  7. Si une entreprise de transport aérien de l'Ukraine offre un service en des points antérieurs ou au-delà de son territoire au regard de la ou des routes précisées ci-dessus, la publicité ou les autres formes de promotion par cette entreprise de transport aérien au Canada ou dans des pays tiers ne doit pas utiliser les expressions «un seul transporteur» ou «service aérien direct», et elle doit préciser que le service est assuré par des vols de correspondance, même si, pour des raisons d'exploitation, un seul aéronef est utilisé. Le numéro de vol assigné aux services entre l'Ukraine et le Canada ne doit pas être le même que le numéro assigné aux vols provenant de points antérieurs au pays d'origine de l'entreprise de transport aérien assurant le service ou situés au-delà de celui-ci.

CANADA
Points au CanadaPoints intermédiairesPoints en UkrainePoints au-delà

Tout point ou tous points

Tout point ou tous points

Kiev.
Un point additionnel à être choisi par le Canada

Notes:

  1. Au gré de l'entreprise ou des entreprises de transport aérien désignées, les correspondances intra-entreprises de transport aérien peuvent être faites à tous points au Canada et aux points intermédiaires.

  2. Un ou tous les Points intermédiaires peuvent être omis, au gré de l'entreprise ou des entreprises de transport aérien désignées, pour tout vol ou tous les vols pourvu qu'ils aient pour origine ou qu'ils se terminent au Canada.

  3. Les droits de transit peuvent être exercés aux points intermédiaires. Aucun droit de cinquième liberté ne peut être exercé.

  4. Les points en Ukraine doivent être desservis séparément et non en combinaison les uns avec les autres. Le point additionnel en Ukraine qui sera choisi peut être changé à chaque saison de l'IATA, ou dans un délai plus court si les autorités aéronautiques d'Ukraine y consentent.

  5. À titre de solution subsidiaire aux services assurés par un seul de ses propres aéronefs, une entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada peut prendre des arrangements coopératifs aux fins de partage de codes (vente de titres de transport sous son propre code sur les vols d'une autre entreprise de transport aérien), sous réserve des conditions réglementaires normalement exigées par les autorités aéronautiques d'Ukraine pour ces arrangements. Sous réserve de l'approbation des autorités aéronautiques d'Ukraine, une deuxième entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada peut assurer des services de partage de codes. Le partage de codes est autorisé sur les vols de deux entreprises de transport aérien qui exploitent des services aériens réguliers à destination ou en provenance des points en Ukraine. Un point intermédiaire peut être choisi aux fins de partage de codes et ce point peut être changé à chaque saison de l'IATA ou dans un délai plus court si les autorités aéronautiques d'Ukraine y consentent. À compter du 31 mars 1999, deux points intermédiaires seront disponibles aux fins de partage de codes. Aux fins de l'exploitation des services par partage de codes, l'entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada sera autorisée à transférer du trafic d'un de ses aéronefs à un autre.

  6. Aux fins de l'article XI (Capacité), le gouvernement du Canada est autorisé à attribuer la capacité suivante entre ses entreprises de transport aérien désignées, sous réserve des modalités suivantes:

    • pour les services par leurs propres aéronefs, au plus deux vols par semaine dans chaque sens jusqu'au 31 mars 1999 et, par la suite, au plus trois vols par semaine dans chaque direction;

    • ou, en ce qui concerne les services par partage de codes, au gré de l'entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada, aux deux points en Ukraine, jusqu'à une exploitation quotidienne de chaque point au Canada, et sans plus de fréquence de vols que ceux exploités par le ou les associés dans le partage de codes de l'entreprise de transport aérien désignée du Canada.

  7. Si une entreprise de transport aérien du Canada offre un service en des points antérieurs ou au-delà de son territoire au regard de la ou des routes précisées ci-dessus, la publicité ou les autres formes de promotion par cette entreprise de transport aérien en Ukraine ou dans des pays tiers ne doit pas utiliser les expressions «un seul transporteur » ou « service aérien direct », et elle doit préciser que le service est assuré par des vols de correspondance, même si, pour des raisons d'exploitation, un seul aéronef est utilisé. Le numéro de vol assigné aux services entre le Canada et l'Ukraine ne doit pas être le même que le numéro assigné aux vols provenant de points antérieurs au pays d'origine de l'entreprise de transport aérien assurant le service ou situés au-delà de celui-ci.